Garrison Diversion

For 19 years, the North Dakota Water Education Foundation (NDWEF), in conjunction with the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District (Garrison Diversion), have hosted the Top O’ the Day Golf Scramble at CrossRoads Golf Course in Carrington, N.D. Individuals come from near and far to raise funds for the Dushinske & Jamison Water Resources Scholarship Endowment, a scholarship fund honoring two North Dakota water giants, Russell Dushinske and Warren Jamison, remembered for their distinguished service, dedicated leadership and lifelong devotion to water development in North Dakota.

Students whose families have taken an active role in state water resource management and are attending a North Dakota college or university are eligible to apply for one of four $1,500 scholarships awarded each year.

This year, 123 golfers took to the course on a beautiful, sunny day, contending for top finishes and prizes provided by 19 generous sponsors who filled the course with contests and promotional items. The day ended with dinner and an awards ceremony at the CrossRoads clubhouse recognizing the first-, third- and 19th-place teams, as well as winners of contests featured at many of the holes.

19th Annual golf champs

A score of 54 was the tournament best, sending C.J. Hager, Riley Akervik, Mike Nogosek and Brent Geisler home with bragging rights and first-place prizes.

The third-place team of Jesse Hewson, Keegan Richards, Derek Ziman and TJ Struble scored a 57.

A score of 65 secured 19th place, bringing Luke Spitzer, Greg Edland, Chad Hoornaert and Jay Tweed into their winnings.

“Many thanks to EVERYONE who’s involved. We are grateful to all the planners, sponsors, golfers and workers that help to make this tourney a success,” Diane Jamison-Richards said. “This tournament is so near and dear to me and I’m so appreciative of all the participants who help keep this scholarship alive.”

Hole contests across the course provide a bit of additional friendly competition for the day. The lucky winners were:
• Men’s Shortest Drive – Cole Broadwell, Carrington
• Closest to Pin 2nd Shot sponsored by Jamison Family – Caleb Rogelstad, Carrington
• Women’s Longest Drive – Krystle Neis, Carrington
• Men’s Longest Drive – Alex Belquist, Fargo
• Closest to Pin 2nd Shot – C. J. Hager, Jamestown
• Women’s Shortest Drive – Roz Leighton
• Longest Putt – Kelly Trautmann

Also, a genuine thank you to the generous sponsors of the 19th Annual Top O’ the Day Tee-Off, as their participation is vital to the success of the scramble. Many of these sponsors also provided door prizes or games of chance out on the course.

ND Irrigation Association
Bessette Motors
Bremer Bank
Dakota Central
Moore Engineering
ND Rural Water Systems
Vogel Law Firm
Black & Veatch
David and Connie Sprynczynatyk
AMERICAN Ductile Iron Pipe
Bartlett & West, Inc.
First International Bank & Trust
Michels Corporation
Bank Forward/Insure Forward
KLJ Engineering, LLC
Ag Country Farm Credit Services
Allen Stock